Spain national football team Facts for Kids 1

Spain national football team Facts for Kids

Spain national football team Facts for Kids 2

Spain national football team (Spanish: Selección de fútbol de España) is the national football team of Spain. The current head coach is Vicente del Bosque. The team is often called La Roja (“The Red [One]”), La Furia Roja (“The Red Fury”), La Furia Española (“The Spanish Fury”) or just La Furia (“The Fury”). The Spanish team became a member of FIFA in 1904, even though the team was made in 1909. Spain had their first match on the 8th of August 1920 against Denmark. Since the team’s creation in 1909, they have been in 13 FIFA World Cups, and 9 UEFA European Football Championships.

Spain are currently the World and European champions, having won the 2010 FIFA World Cup and the UEFA Euro 2012. The team is rated #2 in the World Football Elo Ratings,[1] and #1 in the FIFA World Rankings. In 2008 they won the UEFA Euro 2008, which means they are the first team in history to win three back-to-back international tournaments. From November 2006, and June 2009 Spain went undefeated for 35 matches, a record shared with Brazil. The team’s achievements have led to many commentators and football experts to name them one of the best international sides in football history.

Most appearances

As of 20 November 2013 the ten players with the most caps for Spain are:

  • If a player’s name is in bold, that means that they are still playing international football.

Top scorers


  1. ↑



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.